Access to practical tools & resources to help Canadians better understand and conserve wetlands.


The National Wetlands Working Group produced this Classification System to provide:

  • an introduction to wetland hydrology: provides background on the hydrogeomorphic setting of the various wetland classes
  • generalized outlines and keys for the five wetland classes
  • photographs, diagrams and tables illustrating and describing every known type of wetland in Canada

Additional Information:

Regions: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Canada, Nunavut


Submitted by: WetlandNetwork

Are you sure you want
to delete this bookmark?