Access to practical tools & resources to help Canadians better understand and conserve wetlands.

Great Lakes Coastal Wetlands Classification




Great Lakes coastal wetlands can be separated into three specific systems based on their dominant hydrologic source and current hydrologic connectivity to the lake. These systems are different than those defined by the National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) (Santos and Gauster 1993). NWI defines three systems, Lacustrine, Riverine, and Palustrine. All of these NWI systems can have classes (Aquatic bed or Emergent) that are included within our wetland classification, but many of the classes are not wetland classes but hydrologic or substrate classes, such as rock bottom, unconsolidated bottom, unconsolidated shore, or open water.

Additional Information:

Regions: Ontario, Canada, Canada and United States


Submitted by: WetlandNetwork

Are you sure you want
to delete this bookmark?