Access to practical tools & resources to help Canadians better understand and conserve wetlands.


Simply put, a wetland is any area that holds water either temporarily or permanently. Some wetlands hold water year-round while others may only hold water for one or two months each spring. Depending on where you live, wetlands may more commonly be known as sloughs, ponds and marshes. The Canadian Wetland Inventory identifies five types of wetlands: bogs, fens, marshes, swamps and shallow open water.

Additional Information:

Regions: Canada

Submitted by: Brian Kazmerik

Are you sure you want
to delete this bookmark?