Access to practical tools & resources to help Canadians better understand and conserve wetlands.

Canada Wildlife Act




This Act authorizes the Minister of the Environment to conserve and manage wildlife including wild plants, animals and their habitat. The Act allows for the establishment of ?National Wildlife Areas? and ?Marine Wildlife Areas?, protected areas prohibiting human activities harmful to wildlife and their environment. In addition, both designations can apply to ?internal waters? and may be used to protect freshwater wetlands associated with inland lakes and rivers (including the Great Lakes), as well as brackish and saltwater wetlands along Canada?s coastline. The Canada Wildlife Act permits the establishment of advisory bodies reporting to the Minister of the Environment including the North America Wetlands Conservation Council (Canada).

Additional Information:

Regions: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Canada, Nunavut

Submitted by: WetlandNetwork

Are you sure you want
to delete this bookmark?